• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I figured some things out about myself, and now I have new problems....

CDove

...but isn't that just the way?

I'm middle-aged and have struggled in the USA South my whole life. I am a software developer who does well in very tech-oriented jobs, but poorly when programmers are treated like engineers and technicians and neurotypicals with business degrees control the workflow. This means I do well with other nerds, but poorly in corporate environments.

Unfortunately, my job has become more and more corporate. The "hide from people and work on a computer all day doing logic problems" appeal is fading. I do well in new jobs, but I don't have staying power. I don't sportsball, I don't watercooler, and it has always hurt me. My teenage son was diagnosed an Aspie when he was 5, and as he has grown and followed the patterns that I did as a child with frightening accuracy, I came to realize, perhaps my issues have come from me being an aspie as well. I was seeing a shrink at one time, but she seemed hesitant to test; she feared that a medical diagnosis of a disability would be more harmful to my career than simply attempting to medicate the symptoms. (I now assume that was really an excuse to prescribe.)