• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I compulsively need everybody to like me

jamesaldrin

I need everybody to like me.

It drives me crazy that there are people from my high school (I graduated a year ago) who will forever remember me in a negative tone. I developed a bad reputation near the end high school so a lot of people who used to like me now think I'm a crazy or whatever.

It drives me crazy that there are girls who used to be attracted to me (one contemplated leaving her boyfriend for me), but now when I message them they give me a cold-shoulder.

The thought of someone not liking me carries through with me through my days and its not going away.

Help?

I will help.
Firstly, you have your whole life ahead of you and you should try to relax about what other people think or do. When you're young, people can be superficial and very selfish so their actions can come across as hurtful.
The best advice I can give you as a 40 year old female is 'Just be yourself', uniquely YOURSELF. Those who appreciate you for WHO YOU ARE will be your true friends and supporters.
Never try to fit in with the herd mentality. Do you really want to squeeze yourself into a box that will make you feel lonely and set you up to fail? No.