• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Don't Be Shy To Introduce Yourself

Hello all,

I found this site while doing an Internet search for autistic child/parental relationship issues. I'm currently 44-years old, and I've been teaching myself about autism for the past 10 years or so after a friend of mine (now husband) suggested I might be on the spectrum. I've never had a formal diagnosis, and can't really say with certainty I am, but I do at least relate to many characteristics that seem to define the autistic experience. I have been considering therapy for a while to help me navigate life better, but taking that first step after a couple of tumultuous years has been hard. I thought a little bit of reading about people's actual experiences and not just the dense literature might be helpful. Thanks for letting me dive in!

Welcome, @AracariKunha . I think you’re on the right track. I was pretty sure from the literature that I’m autistic, but then I came here and all doubt was erased. IMO, the formal diagnostic community could learn a great deal from spending time around here. Hope to see you around.

Hello all,