• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Dog Whisperer Inquiry

I’m a certified professional dog trainer, and Cesar Millan is the LAST person I would use as an example of a good dog trainer.

Read the article and you will understand why real dog trainers don’t like him.
His approach is purely disciplinary and punishment-based, and uses extremely outdated techniques that have been disproved by scientists.

Do a search for veterinary behaviorists and certified professionals who are knowledge assessed in your area instead.

An honest dog trainer will admit that 90% of their work is training the human. Dogs are not robots you can program, they are thinking creatures who would like to help, but may be in a crazy-making environment. My rule was to make sure my dog could see some reason for things I told him to do 90% of the time. He'd take the rest on faith. I didn't drive him nuts with asking him ten times to confirm that he wanted to eat or go out. Just a hint of body language was all he usually needed.

An honest dog trainer will admit that 90% of their work is training the human. Dogs are not robots you can program, they are thinking creatures who would like to help, but may be in a crazy-making environment.