• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Trying to get people's attention

Sherlock77

V.I.P Member
As a photographer I am ultimately an amateur (in the sense that it has always just been my hobby), not talking about ability level

This month is our annual Photography Festival month, and typically a few encounters with other photographers, especially ones with photo shows for the month... I attend some of the opening receptions and try my best to do a little networking, but always find that if I'm not a "Pro" photographer it often becomes a case of - "Who are you?"... I'll even add them sometimes on social media, make a nice comment related to a conversation we had, and most often never hear back at all, like I'm a nothing person, as anonymous as ever, nothing ever happens...

Or maybe because my socializing skills are lacking, I do realize that an artist at their reception is busy talking to multiple people, including people who are their friends and family... Just that attempts to connect go nowhere, when I see vast networks of pro photographers, everyone knows everyone, except me of course...

(Edited)