• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Staying Motivated in School

cherryq

Hi All. As some of you may know, I'm a grad student this year and finishing my first semester. (So much work! :eek:) Anyway, I'm doing really well in my classes :), when I'm actually doing my work. The problem is that I keep losing my motivation (literally, ALL of my motivation goes away), and I can only focus on one or two things for any worthwhile length of time (interests, etc., like TV shows or security certification exams, etc.). I watched television shows for two or three weeks straight this semester and did ZERO work during that time. Now that it's the end of the semester, I have a pile of work to finish, and just can't motivate myself to do it. And the situation gets worse...I have a paper and presentation due Monday, another presentation (15 minutes long!!!) due Tuesday, a written final due Wednesday, etc. (the list feels never-ending). I literally look at my computer screen and my mind goes blank on what I should write, and so I go back to something that interests me.

Has anyone had similar experience(s) and/or know how to overcome some of this?