• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Never too late?

LooseEnds

V.I.P Member
Hi everyone,

I am a 51yo mum living in South East England - fundraiser by trade, and writer, photographer, doodler, makerofanythingatall, by nature. My interests range from fiction to astronomy, engineering to art... pretty much most things tho mostly bookish or creative, I guess.

I only recently 'accidentially' realised I may have undiagnosed Asperger's, when looking into the possibility with regard to my daughter. So much of the female Aspie profile applies to me that I simply cannot believe it never occurred to me before, but I am so glad that it has.

My main difficulties have been around social groups and friendships - wanting to belong and enjoy company but usually feeling like an alien from another planet. I love the world and all its fascinating bits but can get so caught up in detail I'm unable to finish projects, etc. Sensory overload becomes more challenging as I am getting older, too. All of this has caused depression, anxiety and missed opportunities in my life, and whilst I'm looking to the future it I do feel a bit sad to think how things could have been had I known 'how I worked'.