• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Life After Klonopin

HelloDizzy

Bed-Cookie
V.I.P Member
A lot of you already know that I have been tapering off of Klonopin, which I've been on for six years (an extremely addictive and dangerous anti-anxiety drug) and I will be entirely done with it after about a week for two. Done forever, I don't want to ever touch it again.
Saying that in itself is hard for me, because it has become pat of "me" over the past several years. I was KNOWN for being on it in highschool. I reveled in that. I am in no way promoting pills of any kind, especially this one - it is probably the main reason I screwed up at two different colleges, probably the reason I dropped out of highschool - I didn't have panic attacks until I was on this pill, I only had anxiety before.

About 7 months after my mothers death when I was 16, I was put on this drug, and ever since, I have not dealt with anxiety any other way than to take pills. I was told by my doctor that being on that medicine could be the reason I'm entirely numb most of the time to any emotion. I don't feel anything. He said he had several patients who had to go into the hospital due to overwhelming emotion. I hope I'm simply not emotional and won't get like that. BUT, I DO experience anxiety!