• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Let your voice be heard, share your experience with me.

Hi everyone. My name is Lindsey and I am a college student. I am wanting to know more about each of your own individual experiences in how you came to realize that you were different in view of having autism. I would like to solicit descriptions of these experiences of how you came to understand that you have autism. If you are willing I would love to give a voice to your experience. If you are interested please respond and I will message my private email.

Thanks! :)

For me, I was always the weird child in the family and the weird kid on the block.

Autism sort of gave me a name and a flag to search for others like me as well as helping me understand better why I was different from other people and what I could work on to bother people less.

After the 1500th comment of "you're weird", "you're out there", "what the heck", "what's wrong with you", "why don't you ____ like other people", and similar remarks, I started to get an idea I may not quite fit in. :p

You're welcome to pick my brains. I'm still trying to draw the lines between Artist, Southern Tomboy, and Autistic. Believe me, there are a lot of blurry lines there!

For me, I was always the weird child in the family and the weird kid on the block.