• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Any Aspies here homeschooled?

Sorry if this has already been addressed; I'm a newbie and couldn't find a "search threads" function here.

My son, age 14, is currently undergoing the diagnosis procedure for what we suspect is Asperger's as well as ADHD and maybe even ODD. Possibly Dysgraphia as well, but not sure how much overlap there may be with the Asp's.

He's quite bright and tests well on standardized tests, which is why we've never had him tested before this. As long as his scores were okay, the school refused to do it no matter how "quirky" he was personally. Now, attending an online charter school (which, admittedly, is AWFUL in how they organize their information, making each day a scavenger hunt just to figure out what that day's assignments are!), he is failing miserably.

We have homeschooled a little in years past--in 4th grade, and again in 7th last year--with varied success. It might be different if we did it again though, knowing about his diagnosis.

He LOVES reading but has problems with expressive language whether it's speaking or writing. He hates math but is really good at it, but in a very right-brained, intuitive way rather than a step-by-step, logical way. It would need to be a very literature-based curriculum if we did homeschool.