• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

advice needed

Ruby_Aspergic

So, I am a college student and have recently been accepted to a prestigious internship program that involves traveling to the nation's capital with 20 other students to live and intern for four months. I am really going to be miserable beyond belief if I can't have my own bedroom in my apartment. I can handle roommates but I need a quiet, controlled space to retreat to. The program head said she was sure they could accommodate any disabilities I may have, but I suspect she didn't know exactly what she was saying because I have not yet disclosed that I have autism. How do you suppose I should handle this? I would guess just being truthful and explaining why I need it would work best, but I don't know how to explain it to her without thinking I am incapable of working with people and therefore unworthy of the internship, or without her thinking I am just being difficult and unwilling to cooperate with roommates. It is just too damned exhausting to "fake it" 24 hours a day, and I make my roommates nuts with my strange-ish behavior.