• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Is my husband an Aspie or am I way off base here?

wifey

Hello all, I am new to the fourm, but I am SO glad I found it! I am in the process of trying to get my husband assessed. I think he is on the Autistic scale, but maybe I am hoping it is Aspies verses something else, because honestly, I think I could deal with Aspies verses something else...does that make sence? Let me give you all some bullet points and maybe you can confirm that I at least am on the right track?
Hubby is 49 years old. Graduated high school top of his class, got scolorships to everything, graduated college in 3 years with 2 4 year degrees, has an IQ of over 180.
Horrible self esteem most days. Has regrets in life he has never let go of...didn't pass physical part to become a pilot, has regreted it all his life. Kids picked on him in school, has never gotten over it.
Dwells on the negitive.
He is a very good mechanical engineer, to the point of almost work aholic. He is not a clock watcher, he waits for a good stoppig point before leaving work for the day, however it is usually about the same time every day. His co-workers like him because he is the "go to guy" to fix just about anything, they recognize and appreciate his inteligence.