• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I bought a bonsai tree

Southern Discomfort

Smarter than the Average Bear
V.I.P Member
Zelkova Parvifolia bonsai. Which is a Japanese elm, closely related to the Ulmus - the Chinese Elm. Zelkova does in fact also grow in China. I'm completely new to this and I've just given it some rain water. I'm keeping it indoors in my bedroom, it's getting early morning sunlight but it's out of direct sunlight but 10-11 am I'd say.

Apparently daily watering is needed but it shouldn't be over watered, but definitely not allowed to go dry. It looks like it was recently pruned.

Yeah, hopefully it's in a good enough place and I'm able to get a hang of this. I'm not very good at learning from things which aren't exact in their instruction so this should be a good exercise for me to gain a bit of confidence in going by instinct.

Anyone else here growing bonsai?

IMG_20170819_175143.jpg

I hope your grows up big and strong.

Strong? Yes.

Big? Not likely. After all, it's a Bonsai tree. ;) :D

My brother once had them a few years. He said it involved more work than one would think, but I never pressed him on the details. I just think they look quite nice.