• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Work Issues - Possible workplace Discrimination

Abe1

I am continuing to have issues in work.

I am an accountant with great maths skills and good technical knowledge however my interpersonal skills are weaker, and this has caused my problems.

I feel I have been overlooked in the past, and when I try to stand up for myself I tend to struggle, it is a very political environment and there are many socially manipulative people and I feel i have been used. So while my technical skills are great, I unfortunately occasionally get sarcy and snappy when stressed, which as you can imagine does not help my reputation.

Over the past few years I have not been considered for some roles, with people coming in taking over parts of my role.

Recently a new boss started and they know now about me having Aspergers, the problem is she has absolutely no idea how to handle me and I feel I might be discriminated against. Alternatively perhaps I am being paranoid, and work is only trying to help me, an issue I have is that I feel I cannot trust my judgement on people any more.

I have a number of options.

1. Keep things as they are - It is a decently paid job and fairly secure if I keep my head down.