• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Was told I'll need to improve my "communication skills" if I want to be hired directly :/

nope

Right now I'm a contractor. In general people like my work, but I was recently told if I want to be hired directly I'll have to improve my "communication skills," which really means my speaking ability.

I've had issues with speaking my whole life. I've made significant progress in the past three years but I doubt I'll ever improve to the point I could come across as "articulate" or "professional."

Here's the thing: I'm not currently diagnosed with anything. If my speaking ability is the only thing that's stopping me from getting hired directly, should I get an official diagnosis and request a reasonable accommodation?

Right now I'm a contractor. In general people like my work, but I was recently told if I want to be hired directly I'll have to improve my "communication skills," which really means my speaking ability.

I've had issues with speaking my whole life. I've made significant progress in the past three years but I doubt I'll ever improve to the point I could come across as "articulate" or "professional."