• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

The Starving Artist

Pinecones

I am an artist by nature and have a passion for photorealism. It helps me focus and power through anxiety and other problems. I've tried for 14 years to market my art in different ways and haven't succeeded. I've been 'commissioned' to do several portraits and some band art, never once got paid. I've done fantasy novel concept art, didn't get paid. I used to make pennies doing graphic art/business design for friends who couldn't afford to pay more than $2-5/hour. I mean, I guess I'm not here to complain about that specifically. I actually run an online business and understand business very well. But art, to me, isn't business. I love it. I would LOVE to do it for money. But I also am happy to do it as a gift and service, so I never really cried about not getting paid. However, I would LOVE it if I could make money off what I love to do. I've tried deviant art, red bubble, etsy, local sales/consignment/art shows, craigslist, and others. I'm really not good with social media so things like deviant art and facebook never got anywhere for me. I've only made like 5 redbubbble sales over the years (woohoo, $1!) and stopped putting effort into it. Ultimately the problem to me seems that I specialize in graphite portrait work and people don't wan