• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

The children issue: should I tell my ex to test for HFA?

Should I tell him to test for HFA?

• Yes

Votes: 2 16.7%
  • No

Votes: 10 83.3%

• Total voters

Robot

My ex is undiagnosed. I am not a medical professional. We ended because he had a "shutdown" episode.

Why I think he has HFA: we were very close for the year that we dated. He told me many thoughts and difficulties he felt. He calls himself a robot. My best friend (who has family on the spectrum) first told me of this forum. I have lurked for months, and continue to discover many descriptions that are identical to who my ex is, and what my ex has told me.

I am not in contact with him, by my choice. My question is more to do with the issue of children. He wants them, however he has often said that he doesn't know if he can cope with special-needs children. Since ASD has an 83% to 90% genetic inheritance rate, should I tell him to test if he is on the spectrum?