• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

The Aspie Teachers' Thread

DC1346

I'm a little uncomfortable with having inadvertently hijacked someone else's thread to create an Aspie Teachers' thread ... so I thought I'd start afresh by posting this here.

My name is David (wave wave at the monitor) and I am an Aspie teacher.

One thing I like about teaching is that it can be very structured. School law, district and school policy, and teacher rules have allowed me to create an environment in which I have a lot of control.

As a teacher I am responsible for teaching the state instructional standards ... but how I teach them is up to me. How I sequence lessons ... how I assess student learning ... whether these lessons should be hands-on or taught using power point presentations and/or textbooks is up to me.

If a student chooses not to learn, there will be consequences. Students who refuse to participate will get failing grades. Students who mouth off to me about why they're not participating or who otherwise try to disrupt my class get a one way trip to the Dean's office where they have the choice of adjusting their attitude, having a parent conference, going into in-school suspension, or with enough referrals - being suspended.