• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

(Survey, USA) Developing an app for adults on the spectrum to help with disability benefits

Chris Reierson

Hello!

My name is Chris Reierson and I'm a UX Design student formally diagnosed with ASD.

I'm currently developing an app for adults on the spectrum who receive or are interested in receiving federal and/or state disability benefits (e.g. SSI, SSDI, Medicaid, etc.).
This is a school project (UX Design) and is absolutely not made for any commercial purposes.

I find that too often, the language and interface(s) used to explain federal/state disability benefits are neither written nor designed to be intuitive for those of us on the spectrum.

The app I'm working on would attempt to rectify this institutional inequity, by giving adults on the spectrum an all-in-one resource to answer questions they have regarding their benefits in a clear, concise, and easy to use way.

To make this app as effective as possible, I need your help: if you are willing to do so, please answer the questions in the section in blue, below, and reply with your answers to this topic.
These questions concern your understanding of various federal and state benefits, as well as some basic demographic questions (e.g. internet and/or phone app usage).