• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Student Project

Morgan Jinks

Hi, I am a Product Design student at Wolverhampton University. I am currently in the process of designing a safe zone for autistic children within primary schools. I have created a questionnaire to help me understand what sort of things would be good to put in the space. If anyone could fill this questionnaire out, I would really appreciate it and would help me a lot!

1. What sort of lighting would be best suited for autistic children in a school environment?

2. Do you think a soft play area is effective when trying to teach?

3. Would having tinted windows help autistic children concentrate better?

4. What sort of routines do you think works best at school?

5. What sort of things help autistic children relax?

6. Do you think having an interactive tablet to help autistic children learn is a good idea or would screen time affect their concentration?

7. Would having a colour scheme for different lessons help them build a better routine at school?

Thank you for spending time to fill this questionnaire out.

I think your design should include a place of silence for the children - a space where noises are significantly muted or completely shut out.