• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Struggling to Understand my Aspie boyfriend...can our relationship work?

Katina12

Hello everyone, so I'm very new to this, but here's my situation.

I'm a NT girl with an aspie-diagnosed boyfriend, and I absolutely love him to pieces. He is gentle and innocent and caring and throws himself into his passions, and I care for him so much. He is an incredibly talented programmer and I love his intensity and intelligence.

But when it comes to basically everything we are so, so different. I wouldn't call myself an extrovert but I am a pretty social being and I like going out to eat, seeing friends, etc. on the weekends. My boyfriend only really feels "safe" at home. He recently told me that he only goes out for my sake, and if it was up to him he would spend every day at home. He also told me he often struggles just to leave the house, and he has a hard time going anywhere without me there.
I find it hard to relate to this...for me, it takes absolutely no thought getting out of the house...I just go. I try to be patient with him, but his anxiety regarding leaving the house never really seems to improve, and I get frustrated.