• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Stimming and concentration

Jayjay05

Hi,
Was diagnosed a few years ago now but still learning about autism. I'm a college student and obviously have a lot of work to do and concentration is required. However I find it really hard to concentrate, if I do on the rare occasion concentrate for more than an hour then I get almost tic like stims where I have have have to move my body. Does anyone else experience this? Or have any tips on how to overcome it?

When I have to concentrate is when my trichotillomania kicks in, so I definitely feel ya... I have yet to find a way to stop. I've tried stim toys, doodling, chewing... I would also appreciate any tips!

Also, welcome!! :) Glad you could join us!

Hello @Jayjay05
Even for NT folk concentrating for more than an hour is difficult. I don't think you have a problem, just a warning system to remind you to take a break. Nothing wrong with that!