• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

special interests which were relevant at one time but not so much now

musicalman

Hi everyone,
A few days ago this idea came to me. Who has a special interest in something which, due to the passing of time, is hardly relevant today? I'll give you mine.

Being a musician, I've always been interested in synthesizers. The one branch that I found most interesting since I was a teenager is sample-based synthesis. This essentially means that different samples or recordings of instruments are played based on what note of the keyboard you press, or how soft or loud you press that note. While that is still popular today and I find it interesting to see how approaches develop in that field, I've been more interested in retro products where memory was expensive so roms had to be as small as you could get away with. I feel like working within these kinds of constraints is really a lost art.