• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Sound blocking suggestions?

Ayda.aguefort

Hi, I am a recently diagnosed college student and I have just had to move back home because of the pandemic. It was easier when I was living alone because I was able to make accommodations for myself and didn’t have to justify them to anyone, but I am living with my parents again now. I have a huge problem with our showers here- they make a high pitched loud squealing sound. Both of our showers here do it and they have ever since I can remember. I looked it up and we’d probably have to bust into the wall to fix it- something that my parents (who I have not told of my diagnosis yet) would probably be both unwilling and financially unable to do. I tried the silicon ear plugs that go on the outside of your ear and foam earplugs. I thought the foam ones were working well enough even though the sound was still clearly audible but the sound just triggered another meltdown even with them in. Does anyone have any advice for how to more effectively block out sound? Any advice is appreciated, on this or just how to handle living with parents that you have to mask around!