• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Avarici

Hello,
I am a teacher who is looking to help a student and his parents. This student has autism and has very little verbal expression. His most frequent stim tends to be verbal scripting. It is clear he is quoting something, but he is difficult to understand. He also enjoys deep pressure and will often squeeze his own hands when he begins to get frustrated. I firmly believe that it is important to let students stim and do not mind the constant chatter that runs through my class during downtime. The concern is when this student begins to escalate. His quotes turn into a loud deep shout that lasts from 10-30 seconds, and it is LOUD. When he gets to this point he is no longer smiling, has his brows drawn together and gets louder and louder.

We have tried taking him to jump on a trampoline, but sometimes even after 30 minutes of jumping he still doesn't seem okay. We have tried sending him to a quiet room, deep pressure, walks, water, food, taking sweatshirts off, putting sweatshirts on, and giving him headphones. All attempts to ask him what's wrong result in more yelling and frustration from him.