• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone! (Trigger warning for discussion of eating disorders)

I am currently doing a Masters in autism research and have an assignment which is a research proposal on "Improving eating disorder treatments for autistic males". I wanted to consult with the autistic community before starting to ensure that my research topic aligns with the wishes of the autistic community. A quick background in case you are not familiar with the prevalence of eating disorders in autism: it is estimated that around 25% of people with eating disorders have autism (Huke et al., 2013). Currently autism specific treatments (that take into account sensory needs and more) have been lacking but it is slowly starting to be made (see PEACE program by Tchanturia). However, this treatment does not account for the sex differences in eating disorders, which research has shown does exist. Please see my questions below and feel free to answer one or all of them as well as ask questions and leave additional comments! :) Of course, treatments of men, women, trans and non-binary are equally as important, but men have been chosen as these things need to be tackled one population at a time.

1) Do you think this is an important research area for autism research?