• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Opinions on school?

ospie1322

I was wondering what people thought about the US school system. Is it good? Is it bad? What needs to stay? What needs to be changed?

Hi ospie!

I'm in Canada so the US school system is something I studied a little but I've never experienced directly. I know that the quality of American public schools varies enormously depending upon the revenues of the communities they're located in. Some of these look like prisons whereas others are really well equipped & pleasant.

What made you bring up this topic? Do you have some thoughts on the USA school system?

Yes, I do. I believe that the school system is not good at all. I also believe that children and teens are equipped with the tools to educate themselves, known as "unschooling." People such as John Taylor Gatto have written books and essays about it.

Sounds a little like what Rousseau said. Please tell me more. When you say educate themselves, what do you mean: as in teach themselves something like reading or algebra? Do you mean kids working alone, with other kids or with an adult acting more as a facilitator than a traditional teacher?