• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Normal developement - aspie; late developement - autie

Suzanne

V.I.P Member
One thing that has been plaguing me is that I am a late developer and so, every time I read something about aspergers, I see that in actual fact, I would be considered as not having aspergers, because I learned to crawl at 2 and learned to read at 9. However, as I use my long memory, I detect that it was invironmental issues ie bad parenting that caused this apparent late developement. Like when I finally grasp something, I get very good at it and jump ahead of everyone else.

My husband then says: no, it is because you get obsessed with something and thus, why you are then very good at it.

So, my question is this: has any official aspie been a late developer?

Oh and although the title does include auties; I know I have got classic autism.

Yes. I didn't learn to speak until I was four. But I caught up in due time. By 5-6 I was using some adult words correctly in sentences.