• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

New to the idea I have ASD

mikeanthony

I never knew what autism was. I just heard the word. Working as a firefighter I still never came across it. After dealing with some psychiatric issues for the first time in my life I finally found my answer. Since I was a kid I had difficulty seeing numbers anywhere. Also letters on license plates. These letters and numbers would create math problems in my head and my mind would work to solve them constantly. Rearranging the numbers and letters in a way to make sense. To decode them.

Im here because Im trying to understand myself.

welcome to af.png

Welcome. When I was first diagnosed 10 years ago my Psych got me to create a diary of the weird things in my life since I could remember, back to 4 years old. It sure helped to explain why I was so different, and I felt less guilt about it.