• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

New here

Rebecca Bailey

Hey,

basically I’m posting on here because I work as a barmaid but I’m thinking of quitting because I just don’t like the job anymore, it’s too demanding socially and i just feel like no one understands. Has anyone else whose worked in this profession felt like this? If so what did you do?

Hey, basically I’m posting on here because I work as a barmaid but I’m thinking of quitting because I just don’t like the job anymore, it’s too demanding socially and I just feel like no one understands. Has anyone else who's worked in this profession felt like this? If so what did you do?
Yes. It was a desperate situation: I was a penniless student and taking on any work that was available, and in the mid-1990s for me that meant building work (not exactly ideal for someone with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) and bar work (not exactly suitable for someone with Asperger's Syndrome).

In those days you had to be able to add up all the drinks in your head, and work out the correct change. I was good at that. And I was reliable and didn't steal too much, which was rare in the pub trade. And I could spell the word "accommodation" when writing a bill. So licensees appreciated that much.