• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Multiple Special Interests

total-recoil

I was reading the other night on the subtle differences between HFA and Aspergers. This is because I strongly suspect I have HFA and not Aspergers, although as a non psychologist I can never be absolutely certain. Anyway, it turns out one of the subtle differences mentioned is that people with HFA usually have mutliple special interests whereas aspies usually have just the one. Maybe here people will blow this theory and post that indeed, despite aspeger diagnosis, they have more than one "special interest".
Anyway, here are my multiple special interests and this is really quite amusing. I put them in order of rank, importance and time spent on them:
(1) Music. Making my own tracks, playing keyboard, doing covers of artists and learning to sing. Aspirations to publish my material or even make a group.
(2) Audio engineering with emphasis on tube technology as used in Marshall amps, vintage radio. However, I do dabble in semiconductor electronics to a small degree.
(3) Marine electrics, including some mechanical engineering but mostly interest covers how to effectively wire up boats to run lights, pumps, inverters and so on.