• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Misinformation (I believe) about autism/Asperger's

Janet

I was just looking for info that connects the idea of highly sensitive persons (HSPs) to autism and Asperger's. I found this article and was really annoyed at what seems to be a great deal of misinformation.

I am new to this myself, but I've learned a lot n the past 1.5 weeks.

Here are some of the things she states (this might be Elaine Aron, who literally wrote the book on HSPs, or it seems to be related to her in some way).

She says that there is no connection whatsoever between HSPs and autism/Asperger's. Yet being highly sensitive seems to be one of the main symptoms.

She says there is no way to diagnose this, so you should just read up on it and make up your mind. I won't tell that to the neuropsych testing facility I'm visiting on Monday!

Here is the article. I wouldn't mind hearing from those who have more knowledge than I. I have taken quizzes for HSPs and found I qualified as an HSP long before I realized that I am likely on the spectrum.

Comfort Zone - August 2009 - Your Questions Answered

Blanket statements can be irritating, for sure.
Example>>>>>

QUOTE from article: