• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

BlackWolfie555

Since I'm new to this whole world, I'm wondering if what I'm feeling are meltdowns.

I know in children it's a lot like temper tantrums and can be loud or just obviously a meltdown.

But can they be and contained? Like I feel like I'm melting down, but I'm still walking through the grocery store unable to really focus on what I'm doing, just trying to keep control of myself and not yell or cry.

When I search for information, all I find is about children.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Yikes im not sure. I would make a guess and say yes. The first time, in a VERY long time i experience meltdowns wasnt too long ago. I am trans and my meltdowns came when I was stuck in my male shell and felt trapped. I would do things i normally wouldnt, i would cry a lot, scratch my face, rip my hair out.. It was scary. I got put on medication for it (Respiridone or however it is spelt). So I guess yes, it can happen to adults too!

Not just a kid thing at all. I'm 45 and still have plenty. They got worse at puberty, I think that's common.