• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Losing A Lifelong Special Interest

Deep_Blue_Girl

Hi. I created this thread to ask if anyone has ever lost what they had considered to be their lifelong special interest.

I was a 3D animator at one point, between the ages of 13 and 18 (I am 25 now.) The process of animating soothed me and brought me immense joy. I considered 3D animation to be my destined career.

At age 18, I moved to a big, horribly loud city with people I barely knew, and had to share a room with a boy which felt incredibly wrong, so already there's a massive change in routine which I did not handle well. Meltdowns were frequent.

At the same time, I had attempted to take a course in Animation Mentor. I passed the first course but didn't bother taking the second one because I felt none of the joy I once did. It didn't soothe me, not even if I did it has a hobby. It just felt like work.

From this point, I felt lost. I suddenly no longer had an outlet, during a time in my life when I needed one the most.

[End-of-post]

I'm pretty close to permanently ending my hobby of plastic modelling. Something I've done since 1963.

Just getting too old with too much eye strain. :oops:

Though I'm still doing digital photo restoration and editing. Not easy on the eyes either.

Last edited: