• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Job I've Loved For 3 Years, Now Unbearable

Kuektal

I've had my current job for three years and I love it. Unfortunately it is now almost unbearable to get out of bed for due to new employee sitting next to me. I'm a programmer and need to be left alone while I'm working or I get lost and have to backtrack. Sometimes it takes me 10-20 minutes to even remember exactly what I was doing.

It hasn't been a problem in three years because I have been lucky I suppose. My new co-worker seems unable to keep her thoughts to herself and has interrupted me countless times over the course of her first week.

This has driven me to start looking for a new job already.

I don't have it in me to ask her to stop.

What do I do?

You just need to tell her that her talking causes you to lose track of where you are and to please reserve "conversation" and comments for break time or after working hours. This is just one of those things everyone has to deal with at work. I know it would be hard but if you could actually tell her this while she is mid-sentence (in other words, you interrupt HER to tell her that you don't like interruptions), then it will help her get your meaning. How rude of her! You can and should do this.