• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Job Interview Help

donna_noble

I have been struggling to find a job for the past 4 years. I have some volunteer experience on my resume, but this job would be my first actual paying job. I would prefer to work part time, & I absolutely, definitely, DO NOT want to disclose my diagnoses to my employer.

I seem to really struggle with job interviews. Despite sending out at least one application every week, I tend to go months between job interviews. Then, when I finally do get the opportunity to plead my case, I get very nervous. I tend to be quiet & soft spoken overall, but when I’m nervous I get even more quiet than normal.

I guess I’m wondering what others on the spectrum do for work/to support themselves? Are there any creative ways I can use my ASD to stand out (in a good way) in job interviews? Is there anything I can do to sort of…make the interview experience not matter (like, if I have X they’d be interested in me no matter what I said/did)?

Hi, donna_noble.
I don't have anything earth-shattering, for you, but...
I have found, in interviews, where troublesome and problematic questions and scrutiny are a possibility, that if I am enthusiastic to the point of gushing about the job itself, and describe a few creative