• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I'm too shy to ask my two neurotypical friends to hang out. Any advice?

Samuel

Like many guys with asperger syndrome i have very few real friends, but last school year when i was a sophomore i ended up becoming good friends with these two kids who are both neurotypical's. ( or at least i really hope they're my friends ) They were also freshmen at the time so they're a bit younger than me, but i really enjoy their company because they have fun personalities and are very accepting of people as far as i can tell, yet only one knows i have aspergers and the other apparently doesn't.

I have both their phone numbers and since school got out last month we all talked about hanging out over the summer sometime but ever since school got out i haven't heard much from either of them at all. I actually have talked to them here and there latley but for some reason i'm always the one who has to message them first.
I've been trying to build up the courage to ask them if they would like to hang out next weekend or something but i've been holding back because i think i would be wasting their time by doing so. I won't really care that much if they say no as long as they have a good reason to, but if they do say no i don't want them to think they're hurting my feelings.