• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

If you could design a training

Berianireth

I'm a student and teacher at a university that is creating a sensitivity training specifically for educating people on how to be good allies to the disabled community. Neurodiversity is supposed to be lumped into this training. I am on the committee creating it. What resources in terms of books and articles would you say are a must?

Sharing the research you’ve studied to date, being open with your ideas and designs and not using words like “lumped” when discussing neurodiversity in a literal community would be a great start.
:)

Try to remember who you’re asking for advice.
Your post is coming across as it being a cumbersome chore to create training in sensitivity towards neurodiversity

Last edited:
I would include the book Neuro Tribe as a must read to have an understanding of autism. If people sincerely want to understand our struggles, that book will lay it out. There is no excuse for autism to be so misunderstood to date, but the Neuro Tribes makes sense of even that. Thank you for asking for our input.

I'd think the success of such an appeal will depend on your ability to reach your target audience. Something that requires both the right message, but also the right delivery.