• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

I have never done this before...

James45

James
Hi, I am new to this forum indeed any forum but thought it maybe useful to me.

I was diagnosed as being on the spectrum last year at 45 years old, I have a history of trauma as well. Basically I am very confused as to which is causing what symptom, I keep getting severly depressed (and have done for a very long time) and I am starting to feel very isolated, mainly by my choices as the stress of social interactions generally outweighs the benefits. Also I am regularly disconnected and feel in a bubble.

I really am not sure why I am writing this or how it will benefit others or myself...but there you go...hello.

7b55b3019df4cbf5247400557bc74a3f.png

Welcome, write away. There is some comfort in that many have struggled with similar issues. I thought that I overcame my social isolation and loneliness as a teen and young adult, only to have the previously suppressed emotional memories return in CPTSD, decades later. I hope I will be able to write coherently as I progress in therapy for that. This is what this forum is good at.

Last edited:
Hi James,