• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

How to support someone on the spectrum

sisselcakes

V.I.P Member
Hi everyone. I have been looking for some way I can positively contribute. I am a mental health professional, I have been in a relationship with someone on the spectrum, and I enjoy writing. So I purchased a website with the idea of writing articles on different mental health issues, sort of as a public service.

I plan to have a category for neuro diversity issues. I hope to get some ideas on here.

I was hoping that you could share your perspective and experience on being supported by loved ones.

What has helped and what has been detrimental in terms of feeling supported and understood by others?

I don’t think there would be any objection to my plan to include this forum as a resource on my site.