• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

How to deal with people who think ASD will 'just pass'?

SparklAng

Hi, I'm new here. I found this forum recently and thought it would be time to post- I'm not good at this sort of thing though!

I will get to the point. I am diagnosed with several mental health issues, anorexia, depression, OCD, etc. And I also am diagnosed with High Functioning Autism. I do not see the latter as a 'mental health issue', or an 'Illness' and it really irritates me when people say it is, and it can be 'fixed'! I mean, sure, there are difficulties that come with being on the spectrum, but there are also difficulties with being a 'neurotypical'. Is there anything to be fixed? Is it possible to turn unhealthy obsessions into positive, constructive ones? I was wondering about thoughts on this (admittedly wide) subject.

Is there anything to be fixed? Is it possible to turn unhealthy obsessions into positive, constructive ones?

It seems to me the real "formula" has to do with tolerance, understanding and acceptance.