• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

How do you deal with [opinion] overwhelm?

oatmealday

I've been really overwhelmed with the whole world and its problems lately. I'm studying philosophy for university entrance exams and slowly realized that things are not black-and-white and there are many correct ways to view the world. I'm not exactly overwhelmed or scared of various topics and events, but rather of all the different opinions people have about these subjects.
My coping method is of course special interests, but it's just a temporary help.

How do you guys deal with this?

I get overwhelmed - but then I have to remind myself, that I can only do my bit. Do what you can, and what you have within your power to effect.

Still, every day I have a mini crisis over global events.

My head is a constant battle between catastrophic thinking and trying to calm myself down with rationalism. My instinct always seems to be over the top. Logic is always playing catch up to my over the top thoughts and imagination.

Ed

What a great topic and post. I understand it and share your feeling of being overwhelmed with the many opinions on these topics.

I would suggest you continue to listen and consider the opinions of others. Diversity of thought is very healthy and a liberty.