• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

How can you tell if someone doesn't understand what you're saying?

lisatomic

Recently one of my negative reviews at work (in the context of an annual review) was that multiple people apparently reported that I am not very good at adjusting the "level" of what I'm talking about to suit different listeners-- that these people have had multiple experiences talking to me where they don't really understand what I'm saying, but I don't pick up on it and just keep talking as if they understand me completely.

As a side note, I mostly feel like it's their obligation to say something if they don't understand me. At this point in my life, if I don't understand someone, I'm comfortable asking them to clarify what they mean. However, I guess I will try to pick up on this better in the future (instead of just avoiding talking to these people at all...). The only problem is, I have no idea how to tell if someone isn't understanding what I'm saying.