• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

milktoast16

Hi everyone! :D

My name is Peyton and I am currently in my last year of high school. I live in Australia.

Whilst I am not on the spectrum myself, my older sister is. Living with and caring for someone with autism has been an eye-opening experience for me and has made me more passionate about mental health and wanting to make the world a better place. I love her so much and she is the world to me.

I came on here to connect with other people with autism, as well as those who have family members with autism. I am looking forward to talking to everyone here :)

Signing off,
Peyton :D

Out of interest, going by what you wrote on your second post about doing your research project - would you consider a "cure" for autism to be making "the world a better place"?

Autism is a spectrum, and each person's experiences, struggles and talents are highly individualistic. A bit like the term "cure for cancer" I doubt there would ever be a panacea to treat Autism. The term "cure" also suggests something defective that needs to be remedied. I think you'd find many on the spectrum don't believe that to be the case.

You would also have to ask who would willingly take it? It would irrevocably change who they are as a person. Would you consider that to be a good thing?