• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Hello!

Seth R

Hi

This is my first time on a forum and so I'm not sure how all of this is supposed to work. I was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome just a few weeks ago and I've been trying to come to terms with it ever since. The big question for me was do I really have this? There are a lot of things in the spectrum of Asperger that I know I have. Being repetitive, having big troubles in social situations, and stimming, a lot of stimming. I mask a lot of my symptoms when I’m around others, so I’m quiet and don’t talk. When I’m not around anyone I have times when I overload and have a meltdown, my mom has seen these meltdowns, so she knows what I’m talking about. There are other things that I don’t have issues with like eye contact and being able to sympathize with others. This is made it hard for me to know for sure if I actually have this or if I’m just this odd socially awkward 25-year-old. I’ve always said the world is to raw for me, the sensory stimulus of the outside world is hard to deal with for me. I only like to be touched when I’m doing the touching, and loud noises are too much for me sometimes. I have times when I shutdown and can’t handle anything, everything hurts in those times. I know I’m high functioning but I’m not really living a good life. I still