• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Hello, I am a newbie from Detroit

Leo Zed

Hello,
I joined this forum about two months ago, but I was a little shy to introduce myself. So tonight I finally decided to give it a go. I was diagnosed with Asperger’s over ten years ago. I was treated for the most part of my life as having severe depression. There was something lacking from diagnosis, and so I was later diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder (which made no sense). I was put on a lot of meds that did more harm than good. Fortunately, I was weaned off a lot of meds, but I still struggle with depression, intense social anxiety, and ADD.

I love chemistry. I received a PhD in chemistry and eventually I became a professor. However, my career was cut short due to my inability to interact with my students and my fellow professors and everyone else in the department.

Anyway, I don’t know anyone with Asperger’s. I joined this forum in the hopes that I would meet people like me - people who would understand me. I spend too much time alone. Also, I want to get to know myself better. After my diagnosis, I was pretty much left in the dark. From what I have read through the posts here, everyone seems so kind and understanding. I hope to get to know you

welcome to af.png

Welcome!