• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Greetings! Officially diagnosed college student here

KandelDragon

Greetings, all! I'm new to the server!

A bit of backstory (apologies if it gets lengthy)-

I am fortunate enough to have received an autism diagnosis very young (around the age of three). However, after a considerable amount of ABA therapy, I learned to present as neurotypical passing, or at least close to it. I was lauded by my parents and teachers as a success story- perhaps the so-called"optimal outcome" (although I very much dislike the term and its implications) that gets talked about in some autism literature? I never really questioned that convenient narrative of somehow "overcoming" disability and never having difficulty again, even as I quietly struggled to mask through my middle school and high school years.