• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Got my vanity amateur radio callsign today!

Mattymatt

Imperfectly Perfect
I am an extra-class ham radio operator and two weeks ago I decided to try and get a callsign that is restricted to extra-class hams. Due to the scarcity of these callsigns, some hams spend years trying to get these and I got one on my first try. When multiple people apply for the same callsign it comes down to luck of the draw. I can now use WK1T on the air!

That's all Greek to me :confused: I know nothing of ham radio. Or bacon television for that matter ;)
But saying that - if you're chuffed happy about it then I'm equally chuffed happy for you ! Glad you got something you wanted and so easily too. HUZZAH!

Edited to make the "Hungarian" clearer for Judge ;)

Last edited:
Is a callsign the same as what truck drivers used to call their 'handle'? I've always been interested in ham radio since a neighbor, who dabbled in it back in the 1960s when I was growing up, was able to summon an ambulance to a badly injured person when the telephones were not working. That was back in the dark ages pre-cell phone, computer, etc. so it was wondrous technology to me as a child.

Congrats!