• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Fear of rejection and fear of success.

Gulas

Hi there. It'll probably be a long post, so please, stick with me.:spin:

Little intro about me. I'm a 20 years old man. I'm studying engineering. There are thousands of gorgeous women in my university. But I've always had problems with dating and women. I hope your thoughts might help me.

The first main problem is struggle with self-esteem and depression, which I'm still treating them (perhaps always will). I always questioned myself, why would a girl spend time with me? Why would they be with me, since I have AS? Am I attractive?

Experience taught me that attractiveness usually is on the eyes of the beholder. One person can be pretty for some, but not for others. Hell, even honey boo-boo's mother got married.

The point isn't being pretty, but finding the people who think you're pretty. But it can be so exausting.

I like control on my own life, and I'm a man, so it's up to me to find and "chase" the women I want. But unfortunally, my brain doesn't always help. Meeting women requires, a least for me, TONS of effort. That means I'm going to get rejections from some girls and success from others. The success/rejection ratio is unknown.