• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

eye contact

Aspergers_Aspie

A few years ago in the autism charity drop-in I was attending before covid restrictions. I had been using the service for roughly 6 years. And in that 6 years no-one had said anything to me about my eye contact, no one ever has outside the autism charity drop-in either. A member of staff said to me I was using too much eye contact in a chat I was having with him. I don't know if that was appropriate of him to say that. And I was born this way, I am happy with me and don't feel I need to apologise for me being me. I struggle sometimes having enough or too less eye contact but before the member of staff said that to me I wasn't aware some people have a problem with it. If someone is being friendly while chatting to someone I don't think too much or too little eye-contact should matter.

I guess, because there are some who pretend to be on the autism spectrum and why the staff person said that, especially since it is a known fact, that we struggle with eye contact.